

## MONTGOMERY COUNTY ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

451 West Third Street Dayton, Ohio 45422-1110 www.mcohio.org

**April 24, 2013** 

## COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Judy Dodge Dan Foley Deborah A. Lieberman

COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

Joseph P. Tuss

## Montgomery County, Ohio Commissioners Establish Affordable Care Act Task Force

The Montgomery County, Ohio Board of County Commissioners has appointed an Affordable Care Act (ACA) Task Force to prepare the community for the implementation of the Affordable Care Act and its impacts on the human services safety net in Montgomery County. The work will have a primary focus on the most vulnerable citizens in need of appropriate health care. The first meeting of the Task Force was held on Wednesday, April 24, 2013.

"In 2006, Montgomery County established the Health Care Safety Net Task Force that resulted in access to health services for up to 3,000 medically uninsured residents and information and records sharing among our major hospital systems," said Montgomery County Commission President Dan Foley. "Our goal is to continue to stay out in front of health care issues and make sure our citizens are informed and prepared for changes related to the Affordable Care Act."

The ACA Task Force has four goals:

- Develop an understanding of the issues.
- Review our current status.
- Develop recommendations.
- Provide an action plan and steps for readiness.

There are five specific priority areas:

- **Education** Educate the consumer and human services providers on how the Affordable Care Act will affect them.
- Access Provide the consumer with information on the availability of health care and other human service options.
- **Capacity** Strengthen a network of services that is adequately prepared to provide the right care at the right time in the right setting.
- **Delivery System** Improve systems of care that effectively integrate clinical care, prevention efforts and human services.
- Resources Maximize the use of limited resources to effectively and efficiently achieve the community's integrated delivery system.

The Task Force is co-chaired by Bryan Bucklew, President and CEO-Greater Dayton Area Hospital Association (GDAHA); Jim Gross, Montgomery County Health Commissioner-Public Health – Dayton & Montgomery County; and Helen Jones-Kelley, Executive Director-Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services (ADAMHS) Board for Montgomery County.